December 2014 Recap

The year has ended. Before I post some musings on the year, let’s recap the final month.

  • Family time with just the three of us
  • Christmas with the fam back home via Skype
  • A few Saturdays worth of work at the shop
  • A SUP lesson
  • Christmas cookies and movies and getting the tree up
  • Family arrival and tree decorating
  • Bebe started to crawl and pull himself up
  • Two teeth (one before and one after Christmas)
  • Christmas with the fam and lots of guests for dinner
  • Quiet NYE at home

That’s it. Not too exciting, but my month nonetheless…

February 2014 Recap

Let’s try this in bullets…

  • Found a brunch place in Kingston that’s open on Sundays. You have no idea how wonderful that is unless you regularly work Saturdays and love brunch and live in a town where shops and/or restaurants often do not open on Sundays.
  • Started the Athleta 30-Day Squat Challenge and completed the first two weeks. A road-trip derailed my progress and other forces prevented me from starting it up again…
  • Made a new friend, who happens to be a neighbor, and attended the Canberra Multicultural Festival with her.
  • Road trip! Canberra to Melbourne to Portland (via the Great Ocean Road) to Canberra in three days (around 1300 miles all together). A long time in the car, but definitely worth it.
  • Work and SUP lessons, which I so dearly love teaching
  • Went to my first UC Brumbies match and reminded myself of how much I enjoy watching rugby even though I lost my desire to play it years and years ago
  • Found another place (and one that’s within walking distance of our house) that’s open for Sunday brunch. SCORE!
  • Got plugged back into the L&D community online via the #OzLearn and #Lrnchat Twitter chats and started developing (online) relationships so that part of my skill set doesn’t atrophy

Regular Routine

Routine - Golgatha INow that we’ve been here just over a month, life has settled into a comfortable weekday routine. Hubs heads to the gym before work and I’m usually crawling out of bed around the time he gets home from the gym. My morning consists of breakfast, coffee, and catching up on the goings-on in the U.S. My mid-morning to early evening varies but usually includes some of the following each day:

  • Job hunting online
  • Laundry
  • House tidying
  • Kitchen cleaning
  • Grocery shopping
  • Errand running
  • Exercise (either running or lifting weights at AIS)
  • Sitting outside on the patio in the sun on pretty days

During the weekday evenings, I cook dinner. We eat. I clean the kitchen and we head to bed relatively early–the alarm goes off awfully early in our house.

It’s not a bad life. That being said, I’ve worked since I was 14 years old and am getting super antsy. While I would prefer an office job, I have spoken with the owner of the local paddlesports shop and he can offer me three to four days a week retail in the shop between now and Christmas. I’m stoked and am waiting for paperwork stuff before starting. In all, things are good. Now we just need a renter for our condo in DC…lemme know if you know of anyone.

photo by: h.koppdelaney